Houston’s Drunk Driving Epidemic; How Sam’s Limousine Can Help
It’s that time of year.
School’s out, vacations abound, and celebrations are around every corner – including the biggest party of all, the Fourth of July.
And law enforcement knows it.
Checkpoints, sobriety field tests, and increased police presence are all what you can expect from Houston law enforcement this summer.
Just like you, police are well aware of when all of the big events are taking place. They know when all of the big concerts, festivals, and events are taking place throughout town, and they position themselves to best monitor traffic and combat driver impairment, a growing problem throughout Texas.
The Houston Chronicle named Houston “the most deadly major metro area in the U.S.”
They declare drunk driving in Houston an “epidemic,” stating that the Houston metropolitan area has, for the last 16 years, consistently suffered the most drunk driving accidents in the entire country. Even worse, with over 2 million residents, it’s not even the largest metropolitan area in the country – not by a long shot.
“Houston is ground zero for DWI fatalities,” proclaimed Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg.
Here is a snapshot of facts:
- Someone is injured or killed in an alcohol-related motor vehicle accident every 20 minutes in the state of Texas.
- The majority of drunk driving-related crashes occur between 6pm and 4am on Saturdays and Sundays.
- Women especially are most susceptible to drunk driving, because it takes less alcohol for impairment.
- There are different laws for drivers under the age of 21 and commercial drivers, who are judged by more stringent guidelines.
So, what is considered driving while intoxicated (DWI)?
The legal requirements for a DWI is when the blood-alcohol count (BAC) exceeds the limit of 0.08 – a number easily exceeded with just 2-3 drinks within an hour.
Regardless of your blood-alcohol count, you will also be considered intoxicated if law enforcement proves that you are without control of your mental and/or physical faculties.
Drunk driving laws are defined by Texas Penal Code Title 10, Chapter 49, and the repercussions of a DWI are steep and enduring.
The Texas Department of Transportation details the specifics of drunk driving:
- Probable cause is enough for law enforcement to arrest you for intoxication and/or DWI.
- Anyone with a BAC of 0.15 or higher, as well as all repeat offenders, are required to have ignition interlocks installed in their car.
- Having an open container of alcohol in a vehicle, no matter whether you are the driver or passenger, can result in up to $500 in fines.
- If you drive a vehicle while impaired and have children under the age of 15 in the car with you, you can be charged for child endangerment. Penalties are fierce and can include the following:
- Having your driver’s license revoked for up to 180 days
- Fines totaling up to $1,000
- Up to 2 years in jail
- State felony charges of child endangerment
|OFFENSE||CHARGE||FINES ASSESSED||LICENSE REVOKED||SENTENCING||LICENSE REVOKED|
|1st Offense||Class B Misdemeanor||Up to $2,000||Up to 1 year||Up to 180 days in jail||Up to 1 year|
|2nd Offense||Class A Misdemeanor||Up to $4,000||Up to 2 years||Up to 1 year||Up to 2 years|
|3rd Offense||3rd Degree Felony||Up to $10,000||Up to 2 years||Up to 10 years||Up to 10 years|
Regardless of the number of offenses, there will also be annual fees imposed for the following three years in order to maintain an active license.
A DWI on your record can prevent your abilities to get jobs and clearances and results in higher insurance premiums, as well as increased scrutiny from law enforcement and government officials.
A DWI is literally inescapable.
So why tempt fate? Why risk the contents of your bank account and your future freedom?
The loss of a license affects far more than your social life; it can have significant, detrimental consequences for your career, as well as housing and travel.
It’s just not worth it.
Instead, enjoy conversation, offering your friends, family, and colleagues your undivided attention during your travel.
With our luxurious vehicles already equipped with onboard bars, you can keep the party going and the alcohol flowing while a safe and experienced driver takes you everywhere you would like to go.
We’ve taken extra measures to ensure your safety, like three-point seatbelts in our Mercedes Sprinter vans. Every single driver in our employ is fully licensed, insured, and certified, and our vehicles are meticulously maintained by our expert in-house team of transportation specialists.
Sam’s Limousine takes your safety seriously.
Team up with friends to split the tab, making your chauffeured night out more affordable.
You’ll be surprised how affordable it can be, and our client concierge team will work with you to offer the best package for your needs.
Given the steep penalties for impaired driving, a limousine or party bus rental is far cheaper than the legal and state fees you can expect with a DWI.
Be sure to check with your finance or HR department before making your plans! Sometimes, organizations like companies and schools will spring for transportation if requested. Either transportation will be provided for you, or you may be offered reimbursement for your booking.
Sam’s Limousine is the best choice for your concerts, parties, and nights out on the town.
We professionally provide transportation for anniversaries, birthdays, weddings, and engagements. Our limousines, party buses, and charters are all popular for cheering on the Houston Astros, Rockets, and Texans. After all, a beer and a hot dog is an American pastime.
Trust Sam’s Limousine to get you where you need to go, safely and on time.
A DWI just isn’t worth it, and the life you save may just be your own.